Enrollment: Guide

Avatar
by Wisetail Technical Support
Follow

Think of Enrollment as a way to organize and prioritize content within your organization. What Enrollment specifically does is mark certain content as required and essential to the job.

After all, you need a way to set and display content as “mandatory.” When you Enroll users in a module, visual indicator is added to the module thumbnail for those users. At first blush this might seem frivolous but, if you’re using the Wisetail platform well, you have plenty of valuable community-building content that isn’t essential to an employee’s day-to-day responsibilities.

Here’s another way to think of it: while permissions establish the audience able to access content, Enrollment establishes those people who must complete that content.

Ready to start? Begin by thinking through the Who, What and When of your required content. Knowing those will help you create Enrollment sets quickly and effectively.

Creating Enrollment Sets

Within the admin tool, navigate to the modules tab, and click on the Enrollment pill. Click the ‘Create Enrollment’ button. Give your new Enrollment a title and description. These are for your information only—get as specific and descriptive as makes sense to you!

Since learners won't see Enrollment titles or descriptions, you can use them to help you (the best super admin ever) know who should be added to which Enrollment and which modules need to be included in the set. For example, sexual harassment training might be required of everyone, while server training is required for only a segment of your users.

Who’s Enrolled?

Here’s where you begin defining which learners are required to finish the chosen content. This defaults to Open, meaning that all learners in your system are Enrolled until you say otherwise. Click on the blue ‘Define Users’ button under the Users Enrolled section.

Enrollmentgif1.gif

 

PRO TIP: Something to keep in mind: Make sure your Enrollees match the module permissions. Even if someone is Enrolled, they won’t have access without having permission to the content itself. A good way to remember this is ‘Permissions Reign Supreme!’ — meaning that nothing can override module permissions, not even Enrollments.

PRO TIP: Another? Sure, why not. If you’d like to see what learners have access to which module inside the Enrollment, find the module in the modules and courses section, (covered below). Click the dropdown on the ‘Edit’ button, click view audience and then click the blue ‘Preview Audience’ button. This shows you who has access to the module. You can tell which modules have permissions that affect Enrollment by the presence of an eye icon next to the module thumbnail, and the text ‘Has Permissions.’

Modules and Courses

Next, you’ll select the modules that you want included in a particular Enrollment, as many or as few as you like. When you set up reports, the Enrollment Set Report will display all modules and courses you include.

Once the module(s) have been added, you’ll need to designate a specific time by which the learner must complete the content. It can be set to one of two options:

  1. A set due date, which is the same for all learners regardless of when they are Enrolled in the module. This works well for limited time offers or anything with a hard due/end date.
  2. A countdown, which gives every learner the same number of days, beginning when the user is first Enrolled. This is great for things like onboarding or position-based training.

Settings

Once you’re ready, the final step is activating your Enrollment! Do not forget this!

FAQ’s on Enrollment

-If a user initially matches the rules for an active Enrollment and then their status changes to a point where they no longer match those rules, they become unenrolled. If things change again and they go back to meet the requirements, the start date for the module will be the second Enrollment date.

- If you change the audience for an Enrollment set, you effectively reset the Enrollment—meaning that any users that were originally Enrolled become Unenrolled. The freshly Enrolled users will have a new countdown.

- There’s no reset for Enrollment overall. Once you activate the Enrollment set for the first time, the clock is running (even if it’s deactivated at some point). This means that an Enrollment set can be deactivated and reactivated, and a user can be overdue.

-If an Enrollment set is active and you add a new module to the set, the new module starts counting down from the day it gets added to the set, not the date the initial Enrollment was activated.

- Whether or not a user has logged in once isn’t relevant to the Enrollment countdown—if they’re an active user, the Enrollment will be counting down for them. So get those users in the LMS!

Reports

There are plenty of reporting capabilities within Enrollment, which keeps you and your learners on the right track at the right time. Want to see what’s possible? Read more about all those reports can do for you here.

Comments

0 comments
Article is closed for comments.